What’s Important and What’s Urgent

Make the most out of everything

It was Monday, first day of school week. I was in the meeting of KKB Benilde Evaluation and Planning when the bell rung. I rushed through my ORDEV-C class that day and started the week with a discussion about Life. “Hmm, that would be a great topic” I whispered.

We started the discussion with knowing the meaning of life. What is life? One of my classmates answered, “Life is a gift from God”. I agreed. ‘Then if you considered it as a gift, I assumed that is it something good and meaningful”, Sir Darren added. Life is indeed a gift from God. As the scripture says, “..I have come that you may have life, a life that is full.” – John 10:10.

Moving forward with our discussion Sir Darren asked us to list the things we would do in our last 24 hours assuming that we will die the next day. Here were some of the answers of my classmates.

  • spend time with family and friends
  • date with someone or even get married
  • donate, donate, donate
  • hire someone to write his biography
  • die alone
  • attend church mass
  • share the Word of God
  • say sorry and thanks
  • prepare last will and testament

All of us has its own list of activities to do. But my answer goes like this. I will talk to someone who considers his/her life miserable and share that life is good and it is a gift from God. I will tell that there is Someone who loves him/her so much and he/she has a purpose in life. I will encourage and inspire him/her that he/she just not existed in this earth but has a great purpose in life.

Some may answer that there’s nothing to list because he’s already doing the best out of everything. I remembered the quotation shared to us by our president a while ago during our meeting. “If life brings you lemon, make lemonade. Make the best out of everything”. I was really inspired after I heard it and I realize, hey Camz, why do you need to wait for that certain point of your life to do all these thing you want. I come to realize the difference between what’s important and what’s urgent.

For me above all things, God is the most important of all. Putting Him as the center of my life for I know everything else will just follow. Don’t focus yourself on the earthly things but do the things that will have an eternal impact. Live life to the fullest. Live Jesus in our hearts, FOREVER! God Bless.

Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will. -Romans 12:2

9 thoughts on “What’s Important and What’s Urgent

  1. D says:

    I think life is whatever you make of it, and that if you’re not already doing the things on your “to-do list before I die,” you’re probably not living life to the fullest.

Leave a Reply

